Zhengyi Dao 正一道 (Orthodox Unity Taoism)

Zhengyi Taoism a 2,000 year old lineage that originated from ancient Chinese shamanism. Zhengyi Taoist employ Fulu (Talisman) practices to influence the weather, avoid disasters and to cure illnesses.

Zhengyi Taoism was the first well organized Taoist Sect. Before their founding, Taoism did not exist as an organized religion.

Zhengyi Taoism remains today as one of the two main denominations of Taoism, the other being Quanzhen Taoism.

Quanzhen Taoism is distinguished by its practice of Inner Alchemy, requirement of a monastic lifestyle and its unification of Buddhism, Confucianism and Taoism and it lineage tracing back to Wang Chongyang.

Zhengyi Taoism distinguishes its self by practicing talismans and Taoist Tantra (Priest can marry), living a non-monastic lifestyle and its lineage tracing back to Zhang Daoling. The head of Zhengyi Taoism is given the titled "Celestial Master". This tittle is passed down only to family members and has a direct lineage to Zhang Daoling himself. Today the 65th Celestial Master, Zhang Mei Liang, lives in Taiwan where he continues the tradition of his ancestors.

About 2,000 years ago during the time of Zhang daoling, the "Three Zhang Brothers" Zhangjiao, Zhangbao and Zhangliang (no blood relation to Zhang Daoling) founded Taiping Dao (the Supreme Peace Sect) which had beliefs and practices very similar to Zhang Daoling's Wudoumi Dao (Five Bushels of Rice Taoism). After the three brothers were killed in a war against the Qin Emperor, many of their followers converted to the Five Bushels of Rice Taoism.

During the 3rd century CE Zhang Daoling (about 100 years after he lived) was named "Celestial Master" thereby beginning the Tianshi Dao (Celestial Masters Taoism) tradition.

In the year 1304, the Emperor of the Yuan Dynasty granted the 38th Celestial Master the tittle "Zhengyi Lord" (Orthodox Unity Lord) and ordered him to command all Taoist sects in China. Since then, the Southern and Northern Celestial Masters Sects, the Shangqing Sect, and the Lingbao Sect, have been classified under Zhengyi Taoism.

For the above mentioned reasons Zhengyi Taoism can be referred to as Taiping Dao (Supreme Peace Sect), Wudoumi Dao (Five Bushels of Rice Daoism) or Tianshi Dao (Celestial Masters Daoism). All of these names are essentially correct.

Zhengyi Taoism places importance on the following scriptures;
  • Zhengyi Meng wei miao Jing
  • Taiping Jing
  • Tao Te Ching
  • Laozi Xiang'er

Zhengyi Daoism was essentially founded by Zhang Daoling on Longhu Shan (Dragon/Tiger Mountain) in Jiangxi Provence, and established during the Western Han Dynasty in the year 141CE on Heming Mountain, Dayi County, Sichuan Provence, mainland China.

Thank you for visiting us if you have any questions or would like to share comments please, contact us.